Officers and Board of Directors

Chair – Richard Harris

Served as CCNA EC District 1 Representative. President of Bayou Oaks Neighborhood Association, engineer and physics background, teacher of math and electronics, Committee Chair for West Avenue Improvement Association (Richmond, Va.). Focused on community and police relationships, planned growth along the North Trail, and affordable housing.

1st Vice Chair – Jim Ludwig

Current Lido Key Residents Association Treasurer. Chaired LKRA committee on “hotel houses”. Worked with City Staff on updating both the Code Compliance and Vacation Rental sections of their website. Extensive background in East Lansing, MI chairing the Housing and Community Development Commission, Cable Communication Commission, member Charter Review Committee, only resident representative in City Manager search. Chaired special Task Force on Urban Neighborhood Density, and 11 Year Neighborhood President.

2nd Vice Chair – Eileen Normile

Former DSCA president and past board member, former Planning Board chair, former City Commissioner, Independent Police Advisory Panel member, Metropolitan Planning Organization citizens advisory committee member. Former prosecutor’s office attorney and professional journalist with CBS Radio and Television Broadcasts, Ltd. Focused on city planning, traffic/transportation, and importance of communication.

Secretary – Ron Kashden

Current Laurel Park Neighborhood Association board member and former Association secretary. A Certified Public Accountant (NY) as well as a software architect. Focus areas: land use and zoning, vacation rental city-wide registry, and supporting meaningful community input related to city’s growth.

Treasurer – Joanne Gonet

President of Indian Beach Sapphire Shores Neighborhood Association. Chair of her Neighborhood Beautification Committee. Worked for the Supervisor of Elections Office since 2012. A Volunteer with the Sarasota Police Department and involved in her Neighborhood Crime Watch. Served two terms on the City Nuisance Abatement Board.

D1 Representative – Kelly Brown

Current Gillespie Park Neighborhood Association board member, CCNA Delegate and Gillespie Park neighborhood free library program volunteer and donation sponsor. Former executive leader with Harbor Freight Tools, Lowe’s and Ethan Allen/Markor Furnishings focused on product development, marketing and team building in the US and Asia. Focused on City and Neighborhood open communication and zoning development.

D2 Representative – Dan DeLeo

Current Cherokee Park president (7 years), major contributor to this year’s CCNA Candidate Forum, broad legal experience, numerous non-profit affiliations, sees the opportunity for more neighborhood impact on Sarasota

D3 Representative – Kathy Kelley Ohlrich

Kathy previously served on the CCNA Executive Committee as D3 representative, 1st Vice Chair, and two terms as chair in 2015 and 2016. Kathy continues as a member of the Planning Board after serving as vice chair and chair. She brings knowledge of and experience with planning and zoning to the Executive Committee. Prior to relocating to Sarasota, Kathy served as an elected council woman and as chair of the committee that wrote her community’s Comprehensive Plan.

Past Chair – Carl Shoffstall

Served 8 years on CCNA Executive Committee, 3 years as Chair. Lido Key Residents Association President serving since 2012, Past Chair PREP Board, member of Sarasota Parking Advisory Committee, championed the restoration of Lido Beach and renovations to the Lido Pavilion. Chaired the Surtax IV Ad Hoc Committee (Penny Tax), Owner of construction company (40+ years), Licensed Pool & Spa contractor. Brings an extensive knowledge of City planning and zoning issues to the Board of Directors. Filling the Immediate Past President vacancy on the Board following the resignation of Lou Costa.

Skip to content