And the Winner of the 2023 CCNA Neighborhood Award is: Vice Mayor Jen Ahearn-Koch

Established in 2021, CNNA’s Neighborhood Award honors individuals, businesses, community groups and Sarasota city staff that have made an outstanding contribution to preserving and enhancing our city neighborhoods.   Award recipients demonstrate a passion and commitment to creating a healthy and vibrant community and serve as an inspiration to others.

In October, our Award’s Committee distributed nomination forms to the neighborhoods. The Committee reviewed the submissions and from a handful of very qualified nominations recommended our 2023 honoree to the Board.

The 2021 CCNA Neighborhood Award went to City Manager, Marlon Brown

The 2022 CCNA Neighborhood Award went to Neighborhood Planner, Nancy Kelly

This year the 2023 CCNA Neighborhood Award goes to:

First some quotes from the nomination forms:

  • “Consistently demonstrates concern and interest in neighborhood concern & issues.”
  • “Understands that neighborhoods are the backbone of the city and its identity and champions their causes.”
  • “Always supportive and knowledgeable about issues”
  • “Strongest neighborhood advocate in the city”
  • “Always available”

And Jim Ludwig, CCNA’s 1st  Vice President added since “I get the honor of presenting let me add a few of my own:  Respected, Caring, Prepared, Dedicated, Relentless and the “inspiration behind the recent Neighborhood Summit”.      

Inscription: “With gratitude for your unwavering support of neighborhoods.  Your tireless dedication to the residents has preserved and improved the quality of life throughout the city.”

The 2023 CCNA Neighborhood Award goes to:  Jen Ahearn-Koch.

The award was presented at CCNA’s December 2, 2023, Meeting and Holiday Party. 

About Author

Skip to content