

COALITION OF CITY NEIGHBORHOOD ASSOCIATIONS

May 16, 2021

To: Sarasota City Commissioners of Sarasota (via email)

cc: Sarasota City Manager, Deputy City Manager, City Clerk, Parks & Recreation Director

RE: Summary of March 6, 2021 CCNA Motions on Parks & Recreation Changes

Dear Commissioners:

At your May 17th City Commission Meeting, Parks & Recreation Director Jerry Fogle will propose two initiatives relating to Parks operations for your approval. One was supported by CCNA, one was not supported by our membership.

At the March 6, 202 Membership Meeting of CCNA the neighborhoods passed a motion supporting the Parks & Recreation Department proposal to standardize park hours with the specific exceptions as noted in the proposal language. Our membership did not support a second proposal on the process for future changes. This second proposal that would authorize the City Manager, City Attorney and Parks & Recreation Director to make future rule changes without Commission or public input was rejected by our membership.

The CCNA Membership rejected this second motion due to the lack of opportunity for neighborhood/citizen input during the change process. As you know, the purpose of CCNA is to preserve, protect and enhance city residential neighborhoods and to address the needs of neighborhoods and stand in support of those needs.

Parks are a crucial component of our neighborhoods and our membership strongly feel their desires must be considered regarding future changes prior to implementation.

Thank you for factoring the desire of the neighborhoods into your deliberations on this matter.

Respectfully, on behalf of the full Membership of CCNA of Sarasota,

The CCNA Executive Committee

Lou Costa, Chairperson

Eileen Normile, Second Vice-chairperson
Charlie Nagelschmidt, Treasurer
Dan DeLeo, District 2 Representative
Carl Shofstall, Immediate Past President

Susan Stewart, First Vication Tony Smith, Secretary
Richard Harris, District Norman Dumaine, Dis

Susan Stewart, First Vice-chairperson Tony Smith, Secretary Richard Harris, District 1 Representative Norman Dumaine, District 3 Representative