Commissioners Appointed to serve on Florida League of Cities Committees

All five Sarasota City Commissioners have been appointed to serve on a Florida League of Cities 2023-2024 legislative policy committee. The policy committees set the legislative agenda for the Florida League of Cities, which represents over 400 municipalities statewide.

City Commissioner-committee appointments and supporting City of Sarasota staff members include:

  • Mayor Kyle Battie
    Municipal Administration Committee

    Staff member: Jennifer Jorgensen, Governmental Relations Manager
  • Vice Mayor Liz Alpert
    Transportation and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

    Staff member: Nik Patel, City Engineer
  • Jen Ahearn-Koch
    Utilities, Natural Resources and Public Works Committee

    Staff member: Camden Mills, Capital Projects Manager
  • Erik Arroyo
    Vice Chair; Finance, Taxation and Personnel Committee
    Staff member: Kelly Strickland, Financial Administration Director
  • Debbie Trice
    Land Use and Economic Development Committee

    Staff member: Steve Cover, Planning Director

Appointments are voluntary and typically a one-year commitment. 

Commissioner Arroyo was appointed Vice Chair of the Finance, Taxation and Personnel Committee by FLC President, Greg Ross, the Mayor of Cooper City.

The FLC has five legislative policy committees. Committee members help develop the League’s legislative platform, focus on priorities for local communities and provide understanding of ramifications for proposed state legislation.

For a list of committee members and information about each committee, visit

About Author

Skip to content